The Hague International City of Peace and Justice is United Nations’ second city (after New York). It claims this title because the International Court of Justice, founded in 1948 and based in the Peace Palace, is the only major United Nations agency outside New York. Many more important international institutions are established in The Hague like the International Criminal Tribunal for former Yugoslavia (1993), Europol (1994), the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (1997) and the International Criminal Court (2002). Not for nothing former secretary-general of the United Nations Boutros Boutros Gali called The Hague ‘it’s legal capital of the United Nations’.

Also The Hague greater region houses more than 131 international organisations, 102 embassies and 5 consulates. Next to that The Hague, with more than 500.000 inhabitants, is the seat of the Dutch parliament and government.